Frequently Asked Questions:
Please click on one of the page for FAQs on our Driver Education and Driver Improvement Courses.
1)How old do I have to be to be eligible for driver education?
→ You must at least 15 years of age in order to take driver education in the State of Maryland.
2)Do I need to have a learner's permit in order to be eligible for driver education?
→ No. A permit is not required in order to take the class, but you must obtain the learner's permit in order to complete the driving portion of the class. The new law became effective Oct. 1, 2008, by the State of Maryland.
3)Do I need to complete driver education in order to receive a learner's permit?
→ No. You can receive a learner's permit without any prior training. However, you must pass a written exam at the MVA. You must be at least 15 years and 9 months old in order to receive the permit.
4)I am over 18 years old. Do I still have to take driver education?
→ Yes. All new drivers must complete driver education regardless of their age.
5)What do the classes include?
→ Our MVA approved program includes 30 hours of classroom instruction coupled with 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
6)How are the behind-the-wheel sessions scheduled?
→ The 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training are broken down into three 2-hour segments. They are scheduled by appointment at the student's convenience with the instructor's schedule. For example, the student would indicate to our instructor when it is convenient for him or her to drive. Our instructor would then mix and match times to accommodate that student.
7)Can you pick up students for driver education?
→ Our staff does not pick up for the classroom portion of the driver education course. For the in-car portion, we have set routes that accentuate the lessons for each session, as recommended by the MVA. The in-car training begins and ends at the local high school where the classroom sessions were held.
8)What do I need to bring to class?
→ Your payment (credit card payments are accepted over the phone), a copy of your birth certificate or learner's permit, and pen & paper.
9)What happens if I miss a class?
→ The MVA requires that you complete 30 hours of classroom instruction. If you miss a class, you must make it up at a later date. Please contact the instructor.
11)What happens if school unexpectedly closes on a day that classroom or in-car instruction is scheduled?
→ Typically, Allegany Driving School follows the public school calendar. If school is canceled due to weather or a holiday, ADS classrooms will also close. For evening programs, check with the classroom instructor; normally the policy will be discussed on the first day of class. In-car training is at the discretion of the in-car instructor. Be sure to contact your instructor if you have any questions about the status of your training sessions.
11)What happens if I miss more than one classroom session?
→ The maximum missed days is 4. If you miss more than 3 classroom sessions (the 4th being the last day for testing), you will be required to make-up the missed day(s) at the next available course offering and complete DAY 10 with that class.
12)How much does it cost to obtain a learner's permit?
→ A learner's permit is issued by the MVA and the cost is $50 when you pass the permit knowledge test.
13)How do I obtain a driver's license in the state of Maryland?
→ 1. Pass the MVA written law test and obtain a learner's permit.
2. Complete a driver education course from a certified provider such as Allegany Driving School.
3. Hold the learner's permit for at least 9 months and log in at least 60 hours of behind-the-wheel practice time with a mentor.
4. Pass the MVA skill exam given at one of the MVA branch offices. 5. Obtain your provisional driver's license.
1)How do I complete the Driver Improvement Program?
→You may enroll by calling one of our branch locations. The course is held Saturdays from 9 am - 1 pm.
2)What happens if I do not take the Driver Improvement Program (DIP) by my DIP due date?
→If a person does not take the DIP by its corresponding due date, he or she will have his or her license suspended.
3)What do I need to bring to class?
→You must bring: your payment (No checks!), photo ID, pen & paper, and your MVA referral letter.
4)I do not have my MVA referral letter. Can I still complete the DIP class?
→Yes. You still can complete the class without the referral letter. However, it is required you fill out a waiver so that you assume responsibility for completing the correct class. Please have your driver's license number with you since it is needed to complete the waiver.
5)Does taking DIP remove points from my driving record?
→No. In the state of Maryland, points will remain on your record for 2 years from the date of your violation.
6)My license is suspended, and I just completed DIP. When will my suspension be lifted?
→We will notify the MVA within 24 hours of your completion via electronic submission. It is up to them lift your suspension.
Please contact our helpful office staff.
Allegany County: 301-724-2224
Washington County: 301-766-0087
Frederick County: 301-473-4444